the churchie national emerging art prize

Applications Closed | 905 views in last 12 months
Applications close
20 June 2021
16 March 2020
Prize money
AUD $25,000
QLD, Australia
Will you enter this prize?
This is an anonymous survey
I will enter this prize
the churchie national emerging art prize

‘the churchie’ returns to the Institute of Modern Art once more in 2021. With a legacy built over 34 years, the prize provides a platform for up-and-coming Australian artists to be profiled on a national stage.

The prize provides valuable exposure, an exhibition opportunity at one of Australia’s leading contemporary art spaces, curatorial support, and a career-boosting chance at the $15,000 major prize.

Entry is open to artists of all ages and disciplines who identify as early career and are Australian citizens or residents. ‘the churchie’ finalists will be selected based on the strength of their practice as a whole.

Guest curator Grace Herbert will curate the exhibition, supporting artists to present their work at the IMA. Additionally, selected artists will receive artist fees and freight support.

Continuing and expanding on the prize’s rich legacy, the 2021 exhibition will provide a survey of some of the most compelling art being produced by emerging artists in Australia today.

Thanks to generous supporters, ‘the churchie’ offers a prize pool of $25,000, with the overall winner receiving a non-acquisitive $15,000 cash prize donated by long-standing sponsor, BSPN Architecture. Venue: Institute of Modern Art, Brisbane For more information email


Application dates
10 May 2021 - 20 June 2021
Exhibition dates
09 October 2021 - 18 December 2021
Finalists notified
11 July 2020
National Entries
Prize frequency
Prize genre
Institute of Modern Art, Brisbane
AUD $25,000
$50, no commission taken.
Last updated
6 May 2021
Prior Winners
2019: Nadia Hernandez - Winner ($15,000)
2018: Caroline Gasteen - Winner ($15,000)
2017: Abdul-Rahman Abdullah - Sam Whitely Memorial Commendation ($1,000)
2017: Pierre Mukeba - Winner ($15,000)
2016: Sara Morawetz - Winner ($15,000)
2015: Micheala Gleave - Winner ($15,000)
2014: Caitlin Franzmann - Winner ($15,000)
2013: Amy Tam - Winner ($15,000)
2012: Heath Franco - Winner ($15,000)
2011: Ross Manning - Winner ($15,000)