Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize

113 days to go | 624 views in last 12 months
Applications close
11 February 2022
5 May 2022
Prize money
AUD $19,000
VIC, Australia
Will you enter this prize?
This is an anonymous survey
I will enter this prize
Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize

The Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize (BAAP) is an annual prize and exhibition that aims to increase opportunities for participation in Bayside's arts and cultural program; foster a sense of identity, pride and place in Bayside through a community event; and enable the acquisition of suitable artworks for the Bayside City Council Art & Heritage Collection. BAAP will be judged by industry professionals who will award total prize monies and acquisitive funds of $19,000.

The 2022 prize will be awarded to a painting that has not been exhibited in previous awards or prizes. For the purposes of this prize, 'painting' is defined as a work painted in a liquid medium and applied to a rigid support. Works on paper and works under glass are not accepted.

There is no theme.


  • Major Prize (acquisitive) - $15,000
  • Local Art Prize - $3,000
  • People's Choice - $1,000

Contact: The Gallery, 03 9261 7111 or email

Venue: The Gallery at Bayside Arts and Cultural Centre, Brighton, Victoria .

Application dates
12 October 2021 - 11 February 2022
Exhibition dates
6 May 2022 - 26 June 2022
Finalists notified
18 March 2022
National Entries
Prize frequency
Dr David Sequeira Director, Margaret Lawrence Gallery, Victorian College of the Arts, University of Melbourne; Bala Starr Director, La Trobe Art Institute; Joanna Bosse Curator, Bayside Gallery
Prize genre
The Gallery at Bayside Arts and Cultural Centre Cnr Wilson and Carpenter Street, Brighton, Victoria 3186.
AUD $19,000
There is an entry fee of $30 for each entry.
Last updated
13 October 2021
Prior Winners
2021: Alec Baker - Winner ($15,000)
2021: Michelle Zuccolo - Local Artist Prize ($3,000)
2019: Dani McKenzie - Winner ($15,000)
2019: Fiona McMonagle - Local Art Prize ($3,000)
2018: Moya McKenna - Winner ($15,000)
2017: Michael Vale - Winner ($15,000)
2016: Alex Zubryn - People's Choice ($1,000)
2016: Peter Westwood - Winner ($15,000)
2016: Rob McHaffie - Local Prize ($3,000)
2015: Kevin Chin - Winner ($15,000)
2015: Shannon Smiley - People's Choice ($1,000)
2015: Stieg Persson - Local Art Prize ($3,000)